Understanding My Continuous Work Habits

Photo by Ross Findon on Unsplash

Understanding My Continuous Work Habits

·

2 min read

For the past few months, I've been struggling with burnout from both the gym and work. I initially ignored it, thinking it was normal, but then it got worse.

So, I decided to pay more attention to myself by setting aside any gadgets I could play with and attempting to spend 10 minutes alone. I was restless and bored to the point that I started playing drums in my head.

Over time, I realized that my constant need for stimulation was preventing me from truly relaxing and recovering. I decided to make some changes to my daily routine and environment to help me break this cycle of continuous work habits.

First, I established a designated work area separate from my relaxation space, so my brain could associate each space with its respective function. Next, I set specific work hours and made a conscious effort to avoid any work-related tasks outside of those hours.

I also started incorporating mindfulness techniques, such as deep breathing exercises and short meditation sessions, into my daily routine to help me focus and calm my overactive mind. Additionally, I began setting aside time for hobbies and activities that I genuinely enjoy, like gym and video games.

To further combat burnout, I made a point to prioritize self-care by regularly taking breaks and engaging in activities that promote relaxation, such as reading or taking a warm bath. I also committed to getting a full night's sleep, knowing that proper rest is essential for maintaining a healthy work-life balance.

Gradually, I noticed improvements in my mental health and energy levels. By being more intentional with my time and creating boundaries between work and leisure, I was able to find a better balance and reduce the risk of burnout. Through these changes, I gained a deeper understanding of my continuous work habits and learned how to effectively manage them for a healthier, more balanced life

But if workload choke again like this all this things will just be grammers (:

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Alex Idowu by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!